Headless Chickens to release Body Blow, expanded reissue

Headless Chickens.jpg

Out via Flying Nun Records on March 29, Headless Chickens will release a very special extended reissue of landmark album, Body Blow. Bundled into a double LP (available on CD and vinyl) the selected tracks are a somewhat, historic culmination of the band’s time over the Body Blow years. Today they share ‘Bestiary’, a vinyl only bonus track (listen here).

“Body Blow is a complicated tale,” recounts Russell Brown, NZ music journalist and close friend of the Headless Chickens whānau.

“It’s the middle child of Headless Chickens albums, and, as two major releases with quite different track listings, not only kicked off the bands most successful years - all but one of their chart hits can be found on one or other of the releases - but represents the whole span of those years.”


The newly remastered, extended reissue nods to the years between 1991-1994, covering original Body Blow tracks such as the two hit versions of Cruise Control, as well as tracks like George that featured on follow up versions of the album.). Trivia point: The latter remains Flying Nun’s only #1 chart single to date. Along with remixes, you are further rewarded with rare cuts like their grizzly take on ABBA’s Supertrouper.

In the most quintessential Headless Chickens way possible, Body Blow carries a mind and a sound of its own. At the time, it was completely unlike anything else before it. Following its 1988 predecessor, the cult-favourite ‘Stunt Clown’ (winner of the 2018 Taite Music Prize Classic Record), Body Blow would take the group to new, unchartered heights, reaching a wider audience while managing to stay true to their independent, artistic ways. These years captured on record are a testament to the longevity of the Headless Chickens’ bold creativity, and long term influence over a new generation of artists. It is one of those few records that translates well into a new era.



A1. Donde Esta La Pollo

A2. Cruise Control

A3. Crash Hot

A4. Railway Surfing

A5. Nose

B1. Million $ Dream

B2. Gaskrankinstation

B3. Body Blow

B4. Choppers (Helibatorn version)

C1. Donde Esta La Pollo (Kentucky Freud Chicken remix)

C2. Choppers (Koppelman version)

C3. Mr Moon

C4. Juice

C5. Cruise Control (Eskimo & Egypt remix)

D1. George

D2. Super Trouper

D3. Attack of the Killer

D4. Bestiary *

D5. Kitchen Sink theme

D6. I’m Talking To You

* Track available on the vinyl only

Pre-order Body Blow expanded reissue here

Flying Nun:
Facebook - Instagram - Website